Fixing the bike


Vasile:

The day Camelia had the little stunt, after putting my heart back in its place and making sure she was alright, I realized the bike needed some work. As we were standing on the side of the road waiting for the guy with the truck to come back, I was scanning the area for parts that came off the bike, and that I could puzzle back together. So I stuffed my pockets with everything I thought I could still use.

After a quick scan, the right hand turn signal was completely gone, windshield was shattered, the front headlights sub-frame was broken into 5-6 pieces, the tachometer was broken and the headlight was smashed. Plus some other plastic parts had various cracks.

At this point I didn’t know if Camelia was willing to continue the trip or not, so fixing the bike was not a priority. Once we got to San Felipe and she got checked by the doctors, and she told me that she definitely wants to carry on, I started fixing the bike.

Our friend Matt immediately started checking online prices for the parts that needed to be replaced, and he came to the conclusion that the total cost would be around $900.

I started doing one thing at a time, fixing things, to see how far I could go without replacing parts.

First was the turn signal indicator. I put all the pieces together, super-glued them, and a little bit of electrical tape, it made it as good as new.

Next was the dashboard. I took off the cover and removed all the broken parts. Then I started shaping a new lens from pieces of the leftover windshield. Once I got to the shape I wanted, I super-glued it in place and then put silicone around the edges so no water can get in.

Then I started working on the sub-frame. Over the next two days I j-b welded the sub-frame together, as it takes 24 hours for the j-b weld to cure.

The headlight was smashed, so I cleaned up all the remaining of the old glass. Then I went to town to a glass repair shop and I had them cut a new piece of glass ($10 bill). In order to glue and silicone the glass in place, I had to trim down the edges of the headlight until both the high beam and the low beam lights were leveled. Thanks to Eugene’s tools (an old marine colonel from El Centro, California, who lives here now in a motor home), it made my job much easier.

Before:

And after:

During this time Camelia was resting and as she was feeling better, Matt and I went for a day ride to Coco’s corner. We got there and we told Coco the story and that I am fixing the bike, and he immediately said that he had a windshield for me. My first thought was “it’s not gonna work”. But then I thought “I’ve got to make it work; this is a piece of history”.

When I got back with the windshield I was surprised to see that it only needed four holes to be installed. In order to make the handlebar go from side to side without hitting the windshield, it needed some adjustments. So I started trimming on the sides of the windshield, a little bit at a time, until I could turn the handlebar all the way in both sides.

 

The windshield came with two aluminium brackets that were too short for this bike. So I went to town and I had a guy welding and adjusting the brackets so it would fit the bike. This was a $25 bill.

The handlebar was a bit bent from the crash, so I went to the same guys at the welding shop and they straightened it for me. This would complete the list of repairs for the bike. The total bill was $35!

The bracket that holds the rear luggage was cracked. So I had to manufacture a new one and I decided to install it on my bike. For $30, same guys from the welding shop made me a new bracket, and that way I was able to swap my rotopax jerycan with Camelia’s rear luggage.

I am really impressed with how well the Givi plastic panniers hold up!

Overall it was a really good experience fixing the bike with minimal resources. It made me realize how used we are to replacing rather than repairing.

 

 

Categories: Mexico | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Fixing the bike

  1. Matt

    Awesome repair job. Have you taken it for a high speed run yet to test the buffeting the last windshield owner complained about? Nice fix with the extra supports, glad Coco went to find them for you. I love the givi repair. The rotopak will keep her weight a little lower as well. How’s Camilia feeling? Do you have an updated departure date yet? I sure miss being with you guys.

    • Yes, Vasile did a great job with the repair. He says he couldn’t take the bike at high speed between the “Alto” signs:) As for the departure date, we don’t know yet, as one day I feel better, and the next not that great, so we’ll see. We miss you guys too! You can always come back:)

  2. Perry & Marian

    I’m so glad that you’re ok, Camelia! Glad I was off e-mail for a couple of days 🙂 And am reading about the great results. Vasile’s experience on his Alaskan adventure seemed to have come in handy! More to talk about when you get back xo M

    • Hey M, there’s definetly lots to talk about when I am back! Went to the clinic yesterday and they gave me some treatement, so today I feel a lot better. Hopefully soon I will be back in the saddle. Will keep you posted. Miss you lots!!!!!

  3. Perry & Marian

    PS If you’re ears are burning, I spent the evening with Paul, Monalisa and a couple of others from the RC alumni group. They’re all envious of you and Vasile! Take care….and slow down 🙂

    • Now I know why my nose was itchy. Or does it have to be the ears? lol Say Hi to all of them if you see them again.

  4. Adriana

    Ma bucur ca esti intr-o bucata-still-si fa bine si take it easy-nu vrei sa-i dai la Vasile prea multe ocazii sa-ti arate ce priceput e:)Te pup si ma gandesc la voi!XXX

    • Lol. Don’t worry, things like this happen. But I promise to be more careful in the future.But I don’t understand why you really want to cut Vasile’s wings lol

  5. Sybil

    Hi to you both. It was a delight to meet you both and Matt too and to watch the daily progress of the healing of both the bike and Camelia! You certainly found the best camp ground/Motel in all of San Felipe! Pierre enjoyed fishing with Vasile. We wish you the best and take your time! San Felipe is a very sweet town as you have found out. Happy trails!
    Sybil and Pierre

    • Hi Sybil & Pierre,
      It was really nice to meet you at Kiki’s. We have to admit we already miss San Felipe! People were just wonderful over there and we had a great experience, despite my little misadventure. We are back on the road since yesterday. We were planning to ride about 3 hours to Ensenada, and just rest and take it easy. It turned out it was a way longer day for me, we arrived at our destination at 6:30pm, in the dark, and on a sandy road:) But I will have a blog post about that.
      Thank you for all your help at the campsite and for makig us enjoy our time there even more, fishing. Vasile loved it! Who knows, we might be back sometime and we can go together to catch the big fish:)
      Camelia & Vasile

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

